top of page
Search
  • Leah Cee

The monetary cost of having a baby

In my baby’s first year I documented every single thing I bought. This is not in itself unusual, because ever since I started my very first job, I have always kept a record of every cent I've spent. What was unexpected, was the how quickly the expenses racked up.


I am a frugal person by nature and certainly didn’t go crazy buying what I perceived to be unnecessary or expensive items.



So what did it all amount to? Well in the first year, I didn't get any change from $10,000. In fact it was just a pip over the 10k mark. That’s aside from all of the beautiful gifts I received for my Baby Shower and Baby’s Birth.


The total spent included the initial nursery infrastructure, pram, stroller, carseat, bedroom furniture, books, clothing, toys, pharmacy items, baby swim classes to nappies, wipes and formula - and everything in between.


I did not include expenses that should be taken into consideration such as private health insurance, fertility costs, medical and practitioner fees and hospital charges to name but a few.



It is an expensive exercise! And it doesn't stop after the baby stage. But, the good news is that the 'infrastructure' (high chair / pram / cot / large space hogging toys) reduces by the time the child is at school. Keep in mind resale when you’re buying baby paraphernalia – a lot of baby stuff can be onsold once you’re done with baby making. Items such as prams, strollers, cots and toys can be sold quite easily and quickly if they're in good condition.


My advice if you're trying to keep costs down?

- Don't go to Baby Bunting for starters. It's like falling down the proverbial rabbit hole and your credit card may never recover! Actually do go to Baby Bunting - it's a whole new world for first time parents. Get yourself one of their membership cards to save 5%. If anyone asks what you'd like for your baby shower, ask for Baby Bunting vouchers! Go there with a list and don't stray from it. I challenge you.


- Go second hand when you can. Try Facebook Marketplace and Gumtree or hit up friends who have completed their families and ask if they've got anything they might want to get rid of or sell to you at mates rates.


- Don't get suckered into buying loads of stuff just because it's in a catalogue or someone else has got it. For example, in hindsight I probably didn't need to buy a bassinet for my pram but I did because I didn't know any different. Turned out my baby hated it and cried whenever she was in it.


- Accept hand me downs. Babies grow so quickly that very rarely are they going to wear something so often that it's going to wear through. They'll grow out of it before then. By the time your baby wears it as a hand me down, in most cases, it'll be as good as new. Sure, there might some stains here and there, but there's always Sard Wondersoap!


Things change once kindy and school starts. Clothes start wearing more quickly. Holes start appearing in knees of trackie pants. Kids start hanging from trees and ripping t-shirts. Paint and glitter glue starts getting smeared all over windcheaters. Mud and grass stains are a challenge.


Buckle up - this could be an expensive ride.


18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page