top of page
Search
  • Leah Cee

Hospital packing - the lists

Updated: Sep 17, 2020

Ok, so what do you need to take with you into hospital?


Maybe not everything on this list ... or maybe there's stuff missing, but here's what was in my bag (and what didn't need to be.)



- Hospital paperwork – admission forms


- Medicare card / PHI card


- Shampoo / Conditioner / Shower Gel / Soap / Hairdryer

I could have used the hairdryer supplied in the room - but I don't think I ever even dried my hair.


- Moisturiser / Lip Balm


- Toothbrush / toothpaste


- Hairbrush


- Lansinoh Nipple Cream


- Deodorant


- Tissues


- Earplugs


- Laundry bags for dirty clothes (you and bub)


- Giant maternity pads x 3 packs (buy extra for home because you may bleed for weeks after birth)


- Pads to cover your wound if you have a Caesar


BIG TIP - Frozen sanitary pads are soothing on sore boobies too, so pop a couple in the freezer - at home and in hospital


- Breast pads


- Cheap giant full brief black undies x 5 pairs – I got three sizes too big so they came up over my Caesar wound. I say black because ... well ... you can figure that one out!


- Extra undies


- Maternity bras or crop tops. I bought cheap comfy ones from Target


- Maternity singlets / tops


- Comfy PJ’s x 2 pairs – I bought cheap Target loose fit tops / pants


- Black maternity stretchy pants x 3 pairs (didn't need as many pants and clothes as I packed)


- Comfy trackie pants and comfy loose fitting t-shirts


- Thongs / Ugg scuffs


- Warm socks


- Notebook and pen


- Camera / video camera / battery charger - although your smart phone will record the moments just as well.


- Phone / phone charger


- Muesli bars


PACKING FOR BUB


- Newborn Huggies nappies - I used the hospital issued nappies throughout my stay.


- Wipes. I really liked WaterWipes. They're expensive but they seemed to be kinder on the skin. I did use all manner of different brands and still do for mopping my floor when I can't be bothered doing it properly. You do what you gotta do.


- Size 0000 Singlets x 6 (at least)


- Size 0000 Gro-suits x 6 (at least) I got the terry towelling ones and cotton ones from Target.


- Blankets / bunny rugs x 3 to swaddle (I used the hospital bunny rugs)


- Muslin wraps x 3 to swaddle. (I didn't get a lot of use out of the muslin wraps. I ended up having all six sewn together to make a large sheet size cloth. It still doesn't have much of a use, except for making cubby houses under the clothes airer!).


- Mittens (we didn’t end up using them)


- Cardigan


- Hat for leaving hospital. My bub didn't wear one given the weather was very temperate.


- Cotton wool balls


- Curash Soap Free Bath / Curash Shampoo Conditioner

Numerous midwives and my Mother’s Group facilitator advised against Johnson and Johnson products because of the nasties in them and how drying they are on newborn skin. Curash wasn't much better in hindsight. Gaia products were nice on bub’s skin. This is completely subjective and you'll find, through trial and error, products that are suitable for your baby's skin.


- Sudocreme (large tub)


- Dummies (we used Avent). I know a lot of people flatly refused to use dummies for various reasons. I was the Mum who said, "nope I'm never giving my baby a dummy". Well that soon changed after the first unsettled event. It was a mad dash to get to the pharmacy. I seem to recall a midwife telling me it may actually help with baby's sucking action when I was having trouble breastfeeding. I take a pragmatic approach to dummies. If it settles your baby - just do it. Sure your child may need orthodontics later in life, but I tend to believe that it's more to do with the evolutionary way our jaws have become too small for all of our teeth, than the fact our babies suck on a dummy when they're upset. I have done absolutely no research into this and don't feel the need. My baby used a dummy, she settled with one and she doesn't use one now. NO regrets here!


- Nappy sacks

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page